In 1940, the governor of Okinawa, Gen Hayakawa, assembled the Karate-Do Special Committee, composed of Ishihara Shochoku (chairman), Miyagi Chojun, Kamiya Jinsei, Shinzato Jinan, Miyasato Koji, Tokuda Anbun, Kinjo Kensei, Kyan Shinei, and Nagamine Soshin, and requested these men to create a series of Okinawan kata in order to teach both physical education and basic karate techniques to school students. Their objective was to create a series of “promotional kata” which were simple enough to be taught in schools as part of a  standardised karate syllabus within the Physical Education program, at the same time, these kata should be independent of any style so that it could be taught in conjunction with all styles.

Nagamine Soshin Sensei (Matsubayashi Shorin-Ryū) developed Hookiyugata dai ichi, which is part of the current day Matsubayashi Shorin Ryu syllabus; and Miyagi Chojun Sensei developed hookiyugata dai ni (also known as Gekisai Dai Ichi within the Goju-Ryu), and it remains as part of the current Gōjū-ryū syllabus under the name gekisai dai ichi. Both Hookiyugata Dai Ichi and Hookiyugata Dai Ni are part of the present Kobayashi Shorin Ryu syllabus

Some Gōjū-ryū dojos, including our organisation the Kobukan, still practice Hookiyugata dai ichi. Miyagi sensei also created gekisai dai ni, but it is practiced only by the Gōjū-ryū.